Skip Navigation Link

Housing Programs

About Our Affordable Housing Programs

Lorain Metropolitan Housing Authority offers various affordable housing programs. Our housing programs include Public Housing, Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8), Elderly Housing (LCEHC), Market Rate, and Low Income Housing Tax Credit (LIHTC).

section 8 housing options

Housing Choice Voucher Program (Section 8)

The Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher Program (HCVP) and Home Ownership Program, funded by the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), assist very low income families (one or more persons) to rent safe, decent, and affordable housing owned by private owners in the Lorain County jurisdiction.

Affordable Public Housing Program | Lorain Metropolitan Housing Authority

Public Housing

Lorain Metropolitan Housing Authority (LMHA), has Public Housing units, including some accessible units, located throughout Lorain County.  Bedroom sizes range from efficiency or studio units to 6 bedroom units and are issued to qualified applicants based on household size.

Housing Choice Voucher Program (Section 8) | Lorain Metropolitan Housing Authority

Section 8 New Construction

Section 8 New Construction Lorain County Elderly Housing Corporation (LCEHC) offers 1 and 2 bedroom apartments in two high rise buildings (100 units each), located in Elyria and Lorain designated for elderly, near elderly and persons with disabilities. 

Market Rate Unites | Lorain Metropolitan Housing Authority

Market Rate and Home

Lorain Metropolitan Housing Authority (LMHA) has Market Rate and Home units located at 1963 Leavitt Road, Lorain, Ohio.  These units are efficiency (0 bedroom) apartments for $325.00 rent, or 1 bedroom apartments for $425.00 rent; utilities included.  Security Deposits are required and are equal to one month’s rent.  LMHA also has four single family 3 bedroom ranch homes under the Home Program. Both programs accept Housing Choice Vouchers.

Low Income Housing Tax Credit | Lorain Metropolitan Housing Authority

Low Income Housing Tax Credit

LMHA Oberlin Homes consists of 51 units in Oberlin, Ohio.  These units underwent major renovations during 2013 as part of the Low Income Housing Tax Credit Program.  The homes are 2, 3, and 4 bedroom units, several of which are ADA compliant.  All units offer all first floor living with washer and dryer hookups, stove, refrigerator, and central air.

Supportive Housing

Under the direction of the Nord Center, Supportive Services provides affordable housing in Lorain County for individuals who can live independently. This program is for residents who do not require 24 hour supervision, can follow safety rules, need minimal prompting for self-administration of medication, are able to perform basic independent living skills, and can cook basic meals or acquire food service.

LMHA Housing Options

Lorain Metropolitan Housing Authority (LMHA), one of the largest landlords in Lorain County, offers many types of housing options:

  • Public Housing units
  • Project Based Section 8 for elderly and persons with disabilities
  • Section 8 Voucher (Housing Choice Voucher Program)
  • Low Income Housing Tax Credits
  • Market Rate apartments and single family homes

LMHA currently maintains and manages 1376 public housing units, including 80 scattered units, 200 Section 8 New Construction units, 51 Low Income Housing Tax Credit units, and 11 Market Rate units (seven 0 bedroom/1 bedroom apartments & four single family 3 bedroom ranch homes), all located in Lorain, Elyria, Amherst, Oberlin, and Sheffield Township.

LMHA also manages 2974 Section 8 Vouchers in the Housing Choice Voucher Program, including 75 VASH vouchers for homeless veterans qualified by the VA, and 175 NED vouchers for Non Elderly Disabled individuals.

LMHA has 674 units designated for elderly/persons with disabilities located in Lorain, Elyria, Oberlin, and Amherst. Two buildings (200 units) located in Lorain and Elyria are designated solely for the elderly and persons with disabilities. Family developments consist of 702 units located in Lorain, Elyria, Oberlin, and Sheffield Township.

Eligible applicants pay 30% of their adjusted gross income toward rent. All utilities are provided in the high rise units. High rise residents are responsible to pay their own telephone and cable television services. Residents in family developments are responsible for payment of gas and electricity.